Tracking Habits

My younger daughter introduced me to bullet journaling.   I won’t say that it changed my life but it’s been a fun addition.  I’ve always felt a little guilty that I am not a diarist.  My mother, both grandmothers, and even my great grandmother were all very faithful diarists.   My sister is the custodian of those family treasures and if there is a question about who, what, or when she looks it up for us.  My bullet journal is not as detailed as theirs were, but if it’s a big event I can find it in there.  That makes me happy (or at least assuages my guilt).

One of the things I’ve incorporated is a habit tracker.   After reading the book Better than Before: What I Learned about Making and Breaking Habits by Gretchen Rubin I adopted her philosophy that “we manage what we monitor” and each month I make a chart of habits I want to track for that month.   I track my morning yoga and my evening walks with my husband.  Reading every day and being in bed by 10:15 are staples. Pretty mundane stuff!  Adding “make bed” one month cured me of leaving the house with an unmade bed.  In addition to Slice of Life writing, this month I’ve added “clean 15 minutes.”  So today before my daily dose of Thin Mints (a habit I need to break!) I set the timer for 15 minutes and raced the clock to see what I could get done.   The answer is: not much.  But it made it fun to race the clock and kept me from getting distracted.   And as Ms. Rubin says…it’s “better than before.”

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

11 thoughts on “Tracking Habits”

  1. “We manage what we monitor” is an interesting concept. I tried bullet journaling, but I am not disciplined enough. I guess that is where I need to listen to that quote a little bit better huh? Welcome to the slicing community and happy writing!

    Like

    1. The book is a quick read and well worth it. I put her manifesto in my bullet journal so I can refer back to it. I don’t use mine like I did when I started but I still like it.

      Like

  2. I think I need to learn more about bullet journaling! I could definitely use a little organizational assistance in my life! I’m impressed by all the good habits you seem to have formed! Wow!

    Like

  3. I am a bullet journaler too and have tried the habit tracker. It is a great way to monitor what I’m doing and since guilt works really well on me, leaving those little boxes blank just won’t do. I enjoyed hearing about your BJ journey too.

    Jennifer

    Like

Leave a Reply

