Daily Life

The “good old days” weren’t always all that great.  I often think back to thirty years ago when we were raising our daughters in Texas while my mom lived in Western New York. We would see her twice a year if we were lucky.

My mom made a real effort to maintain contact.  She was great about mailing the girls a short note, the kid’s section of her local newspaper, and a dollar or a piece of gum every week. Every once in a while (not nearly enough) I’d get some pictures printed to mail to her. We would stand tethered to the kitchen wall and talk on the phone nearly every Saturday morning. When they were old enough they would chat with her for a few minutes. One of us had to pay for each and every minute.

Today my grandchildren are growing up 150 miles away in Oklahoma City.  Through Facetime I’ve been able to see them as they learned to sit up, crawl, walk, and ride a bike. I’ve seen the big grin with the first big gap and the latest LEGO creations. I’ve read stories and sung songs and watched as my granddaughter shivered like a polar bear. I heard their first words and now I hear their stories. Today’s big new was that there was a new student in Kindergarten, the first this year, his name is Michael and he is number 3!

In so many ways more than my mom could be, I am part of their daily life from 150 miles away.  Ain’t technology grand?

 

 

 

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

7 thoughts on “Daily Life”

  1. Awwww!! I love this! My daughter is fortunate to have three gramas! They text and FaceTime her because they all just really want to connect. My daughter has even taught my mom how to use Bitmoji and Twitter. I love that you look at it as a blessing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love watching your relationship with the grands! You are an awesome grandmother and your sweet babies are blessed to have you along for the journey! So much fun! Love seeing the connection between your mom and you! Awesome post!

    Like

  3. My granddaughter is in Phoenix, one thousand miles from Denver. And while I love technology, I sure would love to have her a whole lot closer! I miss her!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was cleaning out a closet the other day and ran across a box of video tapes from when my kids were babies. I thought to myself 1) What machine am I ever going to find to be able to watch these? and 2) How much easier it is these days to be able to capture everything with the little camera on my phone. Yes, technology is grand!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

