Miracle of Nature

I took a walk today and seeing the white daffodils blooming brought another recent and much rarer “flower” sighting to mind.

Last December we had a sudden cold snap with temperatures well below freezing for over 24 hours.  While we do have crazy weather here in north Texas with the rapid entry of our “blue northers” this was unusually cold for this early in the season.

That Sunday afternoon my husband and I bundled up and headed for the nearby state park. The first lap of our walk took us near the lake. The north winds coming off the water nearly sent me running for the car, but I persevered knowing that it wouldn’t be quite so bad once we got back in the woods. Little did I know that a rare phenomenon of nature awaited us around the bend.

We continued our trek along the paved path and stumbled upon a field full of frost flowers. Thanks to those endless videos filling my Facebook feed I knew immediately what they were. My husband took a little convincing. He thought someone had toilet papered the field.

So what are frost flowers, you ask? They are the result of a sudden blast of cold air hitting warm, moist ground where there are plants with active roots and hollow stems. The water leaks out of the stem and as it freezes in the cold air it wicks more water out behind it and the ice continues to grow. At least that’s my understanding of it. What I read said that they usually disappear as soon as the sun comes out but we were seeing our miracle in the late afternoon thanks to a cloudy day.

I’m still marveling that we were privileged enough to witness this miracle!

 

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

3 thoughts on “Miracle of Nature”

Leave a Reply

