Remote Control

In my family, holding the remote control seems to be a male privilege. I suspect this is true for many families.

My husband is visiting our daughter and her family this weekend. I wasn’t feeling well, so I am waiting a few days before I head there. I was Facetiming with my daughter and I could see my husband in the background snoozing in the recliner with the TV remote perched on the arm of the chair.

I watched as our 18-month-old granddaughter cautiously approached, grabbed the remote, and turned around to flee with a huge grin on her face. She held it high in victory with a hearty laugh.

It’s never too early for girls to learn the secrets of remote control.

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

13 thoughts on “Remote Control”

  1. Funny, in my house the females 110% control the remote!
    Your Grand-daughter is my new hero though, I could picture this whole Facetime happening and it brought such a smile to my face imagining that 18 month old’s happiness!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are an observer of truths in this world, indeed. Once my husband and five-year-old son were basically having tug-of-war with the remote and my son let go. The remote smacked my husband and gave him a black eye. It was a learning experience, shall we say.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

