“Do Snails Lay Eggs?”

I’m not sure what prompted that question from a curious second grader.  I suspect that the teacher was introducing her annual foray into hatching chicken eggs in the classroom with a discussion of animals that lay eggs. I’ve never really wondered much about snails, let alone how they reproduce but this curious girl piqued my interest.

We found two books about snails.  Both had fabulous photographs including a few of snail eggs and hatchlings. We found it interesting that the first food of snailthe newly hatched snails is often the shell of their eggs.  Who knew?

It warmed my librarian heart that we were able to find the information in books that she could take back to the classroom with her.  I’m sure we could easily have found the information online but students still seem to prefer to have a book in their hands. She was thrilled that I let her check out an extra book so she could take both of the snail books with her.

Interesting questions make my day and I’m so happy to have learned that snails lay eggs.

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

2 thoughts on ““Do Snails Lay Eggs?””

  1. I have to confess this is a question I have never tried to answer, but it’s good to know! I love when I can satisfy a child’s curiosity with a great book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

