Waiting for the storm

We live in tornado alley. Not as bad as Oklahoma where my daughters live, but our storms can pop up quickly and be severe if the conditions are just right. They are tonight.

I’ve got my eye on the radar on my phone. I’m not worried enough to give up watching the Hallmark Channel where they won’t interrupt for severe weather. I haven’t put on my shoes or bike helmet or put a comforter in the bathtub.

The rumble of the thunder is nearly nonstop. Bright streaks of lightning split the sky. It isn’t raining yet, which somehow make it more ominous.

Yet, instead of scary, it feels cozy. I remind myself we need the rain. Here’s my hopeful haiku for tonight:

Nourishing rain falls.

No hail or high winds follow.

Sweet, blessed, cool rain.

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

6 thoughts on “Waiting for the storm”

  1. I’ve read several posts tonight about people waiting for tornadoes, but haven’t read any about tornadoes that actually happening, so I’m hoping they never really happened. We had rain today too. My very dry state (Colorado) thirstily drank up every “sweet, blessed, cool drop.” Your haiku is lovely!

    Like

  2. Tornadoes really scare me. I know that earthquakes are scary too (where I live) but there are way more tornadoes than earthquakes. Stay safe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

