Quotes

I’m an elementary librarian.  I read mostly children’s books partly because it’s my job but mostly because I love them.  The story, the characters, the life lessons, the adventure…children’s books have them all in a shorter version and larger print than your average adult book and usually without the drama. Most of all, I love being able to connect to my students through books.  To help them find something that will draw them in and speak to them.

Sometimes when I’m reading, a passage leaps right off the page and into my heart.  When that happens, I jot it down in my bullet journal. I love to look back through my journal and read the quotes.  They are snippets of books that spoke to me and finding them in my journal draws me back into the story.   Here are some recent ones.

From  Some Kind of Courage by Dan Gemeinhart:

I was thinking about things we lose, and things we have to hold onto, and things we have to fight to get back.

From  The Key to Extraordinary by Natalie Lloyd

Fear is just a flashlight that helps you find your courage.

and:

The human heart is a big thumping miracle, I decided.  What else in the world could keep beating after being so broken?

From The Storyteller by Evan Turk:

You must first find hope for yourself before you can weave it for others.

Perhaps Kate DiCamillo explained it best in Flora and Ulysses: 

All words at all time,

true or false,

whispered or shouted,

 are clues to the workings of the human heart.

 

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

7 thoughts on “Quotes”

Leave a Reply

