Looking ahead to April

I am so ready for April.  March has been a hard month.  This week has been the worst.

I started to gripe, but I’ve deleted all of that.  I don’t want to gripe. I want to celebrate that I’ve completed my first Slice of Life challenge in spite of illness, spring break, crazy days in the library (at one point today I’m pretty sure we had about 150 kids in there!), and a memorial service for a dear friend’s husband.

I started March with my bullet journal  challenge to clean for 15 minutes every day.  I kept it up pretty well for the first few weeks and was seeing real results in my house. Then I started to slack off.  April is a new month and I will begin the challenge again. In fact, I have several challenges I need to begin again.  I will focus on actions, not outcomes, one day at a time and work toward improvement.

April is poetry month.  I’m already thinking about what my event of the month will be.  I’m leaning toward celebrating Poem in your Pocket day.  It was great fun a few years ago and I’m ready to try it again. Something more to look forward to.

The school year is drawing to a close. I know that April and May will fly by. Our summer will be short because our district is shifting the calendar to an earlier start to the school year. I’ll make the most of my summer and be back at work August 3, but for now I’ll just be happy that it’s April.

And best of all for elementary school teachers everywhere, April Fool’s Day is on a Saturday.  Oh happy day!

 

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

3 thoughts on “Looking ahead to April”

  1. Woo hoo! Congratulations on finishing the month of slicing. And it sounds like you finished in spite of some pretty tough circumstances. I hope you will keep slicing on Tuesdays. I’ve loved hearing about your life, in and out of the library!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! I hope you do write on Tuesdays as well. You get extra points for blogging through adversity–it does sound like March was a tough month. Here’s hoping April brings better days. And April Fool’s on Saturday…thank goodness!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

