Finding my voice

 

Tomorrow begins the first round of our state testing.  I will be administering the fourth-grade writing test to a group of five students.  After this month of blogging, I will be a little more sympathetic than I have in the past.  Sometimes it’s just plain hard to find something to write about.

I have never thought of myself as a writer but I have to admit that this evening I looked over what I produced this month and I feel proud. I feel like I have found a voice that I didn’t know that I had.

To quote author Natalie Lloyd in The Key to Extraordinary:

It is a known fact that the most extrordinary moments in a person’s life come disguised as ordinary days.

I’m so happy to have this record of the ordinary days and extraordinary moments of my life, at least for this month.

Author: Carol1006

Wife, mother, grandmother. Elementary librarian. Avid reader and lover of children's literature (and the occasional adult book). I jump at any opportunity to learn something new.

2 thoughts on “Finding my voice”

  1. So well said! Yes, it’s so true…I have A LOT more sympathy for my students now that I’ve done this challenge! Some days, I had no clue what I would write about! And yes, I too am proud of the work we’ve all done over the last 27 (and eventually will be 31) days! Not only in the task of writing the posts, but in thinking about ideas, refining them and sometimes working other jobs as well in between the writing, it’s a wonder we all made it out to the other end! Be proud of yourself! You certainly deserve to be! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the Lloyd quote. And I totally agree with you, when I am writing, I am much more aware of how my student writers feel. Writing is hard, hard work! And I agree with you, you have produced some terrific pieces this month. Maybe you could pick one to share with the fourth graders before they start tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment